PBR Announces BlueDEF Finals Qualifiers

from Heather Croze, pbrnow.com


PUEBLO, Co. – The PBR (Professional Bull Riders) BlueDEF Tour (BDT) has announced the qualifiers who will be competing at the BlueDEF Finals on Oct. 29-31 at South Point Arena in Las Vegas for a chance to take the title of the PBR’s premier expansion series and a chance to win the biggest and most prestigious event on the PBR tour the following weekend.


The BlueDEF Finals will mark the end of the 2016 season for several athletes. Yet the year will continue for five talented bull riders the following weekend as they will qualify for the PBR World Finals to be held at T-Mobile Arena on Nov. 2-6.


Six Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) riders will highlight the field of competitors along with two-time PRCA Champion Sage Kimzey and four-time PRCA Champion and BFTS rider J.W. Harris. Each athlete will be competing for their share of the $150,000 BlueDEF Finals total event purse and a chance to win PBR’s ultimate event championship and the $250,000 paycheck.


This year, 40 talented bull riding stars competing on the BDT have made the cut:


Alexandre Cardozo                 Indaiatuba, Brazil

Beau Willis                              Bowen, Australia

Brady Sims                             Holt, Missouri

Brant Atwood                         Pampa, Texas

Chase Outlaw                         Hamburg, Arkansas

Cody Ford                              Stanfeild, Oregon

Cody Heffernan                      Singleton, Australia

Cody Hudson                         Camas, Washington

Cody Nance                            Paris, Tennessee

Cody Rodeo Tyler                  Guthrie, Oklahoma

Dakota Buttar                         Kindersley, Saskatchewan

Dener Barbosa                        Paulao de Faria, Brazil

Derek Kolbaba                        Walla Walla, Washington

Emilio Resende                       Santa Helena do Goias, Brazil

Fabiano Vieira                         Perola, Brazil

Fraser Babbington                   Gisborne, New Zealand

J.W. Harris                              Mullin, Texas

Jay Miller                                Liberty, South Carolina

Josh Faircloth                          Randleman, North Carolina

Juan Carlos Contreras             Huichapan, Mexico

Juliano Antonio da Silva         Eloi Mendes, Brazil

Kade Alberty                          Beggs, Oklahoma

Keyshawn Whitehorse            The Woodlands, Texas

Kurt Shephard                        Atherton, Australia

Lindomar Lino                        Anapolis, Brazil

Marco Eguchi                          Poa, Brazil

Matt Triplett                            Columbia Falls, Montana

Michael Lane                          Tazewell, Virginia

Mike Lee                                 Decatur, Texas

Nathan Schaper                       Grassy Butte, North Dakota

Neil Holmes                            Houston, Texas

Nevada Newman                    Melstone, Montana

Paulo Lima                              Bezerros, Brazil

Robson Aragao                       Aracaju Sergipe, Brazil

Ryan Roberts                          Caldwell, Idaho

Sage Kimzey                           Weatherford, Oklahoma

Tyler Harr                                Hazen, Arkansas

Valdiron de Oliveira               Piranhas, Brazil

Winston Lopez                        Bandera, Texas

Zane Cook                              Fort Gibson, Oklahoma


The invites also include the PRCA champion, the CNFR champion, the INFR champion and the NHSRA champion who will all be eligible to compete as well.


The BDT Finals will be the last opportunity for these riders to qualify for the PBR World Finals, as only five riders will advance to next weekend’s five-days of competition. The bull riders who will advance will be the top international invite, the top two from the final BDT season standings who are not in the PBR’s Top-35 and the event average winner who is not in Top-35 as long as they finish in the Top-5 of the BDT Finals.

On Saturday, Sunday and Monday nights, each of the competitors will ride one bull apiece. The scores from the three rounds will then be combined, and the riders with the Top 10 highest totals will return for a final ride in the championship round on Monday. The winner will be the rider who has earned the most event points after all four rounds….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *